Yvonne Carts-Powell

Addressing unintended disrespect in your professional community

In writing on July 11, 2013 at 8:30 pm

As a woman, I am invariably in the minority at the scientific conferences I attend. I’ve encountered sexist comments and actions at those events. I didn’t like them, but I dealt with them in as professional a way as I could manage.

In my experience, attendance at science writing conferences is closer to gender parity and I’ve encountered very little sexism there. So it is particularly disheartening to hear of sexism at a conference of science writers: Addressing unintended disrespect in your professional community. | Doing Good Science, Scientific American Blog Network.

Leave a Reply

