Yvonne Carts-Powell

External Car Airbags Could Save A Cyclist’s Life

In technology on March 22, 2013 at 7:27 am

Megapixels: Car Airbags That Could Save A Cyclist's Life | Popular Science

I bike in the city and suburbs. I worry a lot about being hit by a car. Even if I do everything I can to avoid an accident, a moment’s inattention from a car driver could still hurt or kill me. (In a collision between a quarter-ton car and a 200-lb biker and bike, there’s no question who gets damaged most.) I’m not sure this is a reasonable engineering solution, but what if cars were designed to make such collisions less lethal? Car Airbags That Could Save A Cyclist's Life | Popular Science.

  1. Is this a safety feature drivers will be willing to pay for, though? I fear most people will decide not to, because “it doesn’t affect me.” 😦

Leave a Reply

