Yvonne Carts-Powell

Igwinners of 2012!

In hilarious, Science on September 21, 2012 at 9:53 am

The winners of this year’s Ig Nobel prizes were announced in a gala ceremony last night full of the ridiculous. The sublime was approached, but it didn’t want anything to do with the ceremony, and ducked out amid a hail of paper airplanes from the audience.

My favorite among these not-particularly dignified dignitaries is the following:
Receiving the 2012 Ig Nobel MEDICINE PRIZE: Emmanuel Ben-Soussan and Michel Antonietti (France) for advising doctors who perform colonoscopies how to minimize the chance that their patients will explode. (Apparently I can’t resist the combination of science and fart jokes.)

Followed closely by the winners who address the important FLUID DYNAMICS question (especially important on a Friday morning) of why coffee spills. Yes folks, Rouslan Krechetnikov (USA, Russia, Canada) and Hans Mayer (USA) published peer-reviewed research on the dynamics of liquid-sloshing, to learn what happens when a person walks while carrying a cup of coffee.

For the references, and more winners, check out Improbable Research. Or you can watch the entire ceremony, hosted on the The Improbable Blog.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: