Yvonne Carts-Powell

Tattoo Phone?

In Science, science fiction, technology on August 20, 2012 at 12:00 pm

What if we could print circuits under our skin? It’s possible, and not too far from practical.

I try to be organized, but some days I would forget my head if it weren’t attached. And I do forget my phone and keys.

Cosmos magazine has a short article about research, a patent, and a company trying to commercialize skin-based circuitry. If I had implanted phone and a RFID chips, they would be attached, and I could turn my limited organizational skills to other matters. Like whether I left my lunch on the counter at home.

Of course there could be downsides to incorporating technology (see William Gibson’s Neuromancer). If nothing else, the inability to remove myself from my phone or keys could be a problem whenever I wanted to be go on vacation.

Read more: Wetwired: technology under your skin | COSMOS magazine.

Leave a Reply

