Yvonne Carts-Powell

Science writing, for the perennially curious

In writing on November 14, 2011 at 1:55 pm

My life is a little hectic right now, but also very awesome!

When I decided to start writing about science rather than working full time in a lab, I figured that learning a little about a lot of topics might be more fun than learning everything about one topic. But I never imagined that my topics would vary quite so widely.

At the moment, I’m finishing up a review of “Whiskey for Breakfast” (an album by Scottish singer-songwriter Robin Laing) and I recently posted a blog entry on whiskey in optofluidic chips. Yesterday I learned a bunch about sponges (the kind that live in the ocean) while proofing a chapter of a book, and in unrelated work I am writing about sea urchin teeth.
Read more

I’m also interviewing researchers for articles about rogue waves, growing graphene, and phonon collapse (don’t ask me what it is, I don’t know yet!).

I’m at the gathering-sources-and-background stage for articles on extending “optical tweezer” technology to electrons, quantum dot displays, and the latest news in microscopy.

I’m in the brainstorming stages of a nonmathematical article about teleportation. I’ve also committed to review a holiday album and the local Christmas Revels.

And as much as I’m daunted by the sheer variety of all that… as much as writing is hard and interviewing people is tough… as much as keeping all my balls in the air gets more than a little crazy… I do occasionally remember that my work life is pretty awesome because I get to learn a little bit about all those things from experts, and then I’m privileged to share what I’ve learned with readers.

(Besides, all of those articles will be done before Christmas, and I’ll have a new batch of stories to take their place.)

Leave a Reply

