Yvonne Carts-Powell

LaserFest!

In Uncategorized on February 25, 2010 at 12:38 pm

Spectra: The Original Laserfest Hero
I love lasers.

No, really, I’m a complete and utter geek for lasers. As an impressionable youngster I saw a very cute boy wearing nothing but short short cut-off jeans, a helium-neon laser in a LEGO casing, and a smile. I’ve been a laser geek ever since. I’ve been known to fangirl crystal growers, and get obsessed with the math in cascade lasers, and find delight in beam profiles and absorption spectra … I’ve had brief periods of temptation towards optical design and materials science, but I always come back to coherent light and the machines that generate it.

So I am delighted to see that the anniversary of the invention of the laser is being celebrated at LaserFest.

And, even better, the website includes a comic-book (another love of mine) with a hero who has the super-powers of light! My most extravagant praises are insufficient to express just how much I adore this idea, so I’ll just point you at: Spectra: The Original Laserfest Hero!


And on a related note:
A rap about CUDOS (the Centre for Ultrahigh bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems, in Australia) is geek fun (and technically pretty accurate). I’m especially enamored of the chorus.

Leave a Reply

