Yvonne Carts-Powell

RIP Sylvia Carts

In Uncategorized on June 22, 2009 at 4:27 pm

Sylvia Carts, circa 1950

My Mom, Sylvia Carts died June 10 at the age of 77, from lung cancer. With the aid of hospice, she was able to spend her last months at home in the company of her family.

We will miss her very much.

I dedicated The Science of Heroes to her, because she was a natural teacher, a scientist (with amazingly green thumbs), and when other parents were encouraging their kids to be practical about their choice of careers and college majors, she was telling me that I’d make a wonderful novelist.

I remember that when I was very young (in preschool, I think?) she taught me the names and characteristics of the plants in our yard, about chlorophyll reflecting green light, and how the tilt in the Earth’s axis causes the seasons. I alternated between thinking that this was secret knowledge and thinking that of course anyone over the age of 6 knew these things — and finally realized that the answer is someplace between these two extremes.

  1. Your mother was quite an amazing person. I am glad that she was able to spend her remaining days in relative comfort in the company of family. I’m sure that meant a lot to all involved.

    Although her physical presence will be missed dearly, she will live on in spirit forever. Treasure your fondest memories of her.

  2. una mujer sorprendente, ejemplo para muchas guatemaltecas con talento.

Leave a Reply

