Yvonne Carts-Powell

Upping my geek cred at Arisia 09

In book news! on January 14, 2009 at 1:00 pm


Arisia photo by Jesse
The Arisia schedule looks amazing! Also intense.

A series of panels called, “Ask a Geek” — divided into different areas of science — looks particularly interesting. I’ll be on the “Ask a Geek: Physics, Chemistry, and Engineering” panel with the long-time friends (and geeks) Jeff Hecht and Crash (Bill Yerazunis). (Sunday, 2 pm, BU Suite) The “Ask a Geek: Biology, Psychology and Medicine” panel will include Amy Chused (MD) who helped me a lot while writing The Science of Heroes, and there is also an “Ask a Geek: Sociology, Language and Culture” panel.

I’m also looking forward to a panel on “Media Tie-Ins” because I’ll meet Jeanne Cavelos. I’ve been hearing her name almost from the moment I started thinking about writing The Science of Heroes, so I’m looking forward to it! (Sat 4 PM, Room 204)

I hope that older kids attending the convention take a little time out of cosplay and engaging in the mysterious teen social hive mind to claim ownership of the teen panels.

There will be parties (see photo by Jesse). I’ll be at some of them. I will not be wearing heels.

And finally: if you are coming to the convention, please consider taking part in the Heinlein Society Blood Drive.

My panels:

  • Fri 6 PM Today’s Fiction, Tomorrow’s Fashion (Paul Revere A)
  • Fri 8 PM Science Fiction is a Girl Thing Too! With Charles E Gannon, Catherine Asaro, Elizabeth OMalley, Adrianne Brennan (William Dawes A)
  • Fri 11 PM Do What You Love part of the program for teens (Paul Revere B)
  • Sat 10 AM-noon Kamikaze Costuming — One of my favorite events! Help little kids make costumes, in a room full of supplies. Kids provide the creativity, grownups man the sewing machines and hot glue guns. I can’t even tell you how much fun this is! (Fast Track)
  • Sat 4 PM Media Tie-Ins: Dead End Or Foot In The Door with Keith R. A. DeCandido, Jeanne Cavelos, and Terri Osborne (Room 204)
  • Sun 2 PM Ask a Geek: Physics, Chemistry, and Engineering with Arnis Kletnieks, Bill Yerazunis, Jeff Hecht, and Bruce Mackenzie (BU Suite)
  • Sun 7 PM The Science of Heroes (Crispus Attucks)
  • All weekend Book Signings on Dealer’s Row. Books will be available from R&P (Room 311)
  1. I have a copy of your book already, and I’ll be trying to find you at Arisia for a signature…

  2. Fantastic! It’ll be a pleasure to see you!

    Speaking of which… will Pandemonium be carrying your book at Arisia?

  3. I hope so. I know they have copies. I actually bought your book at Pandemonium!

Leave a Reply

