Yvonne Carts-Powell

New England Fan Experience, Part II

In book news! on November 26, 2008 at 3:40 pm

Alas, the wonderful pictures in my digital camera are destined to remain there for a while.

Among the uniformly delightful people that I met at the New England Fan Experience were:

  • Karen Hayes, who writes about Heroes from the mythology perspective. Karen’s blog, World Building Rules is about creating imaginary worlds.
  • Sid Narged (author of, Everything I Ever Really Needed to Know I learned from Anime) and his minion, Monkey. Their site includes about a zillion pictures from the con.
  • Sam Rosario, who draws Edge the Devil Hunter (R rated), and I had some good talks about managing websites and cool science.
  • Kellen Lutz, who appears as Emmet Cullen in Twilight, did his best to make me blush at my kabob during the banquet. (Did you know that Kellen appeared in Heroes? He played Claire’s future husband in Five Year’s Gone.)
  • Simon Tam of The Slants was clearly the best conversationalist at dinner, along with new drummer Tyler. The pranks among the band sounded really really funny — from a distance. (Did they get the underwear thawed out and dry in time for their flight? We may never know.) I’m enjoying their “Slanted Eyes, Slanted Hearts” a lot.
  • Also a shoutout to Jill Eastlake (con chair for Arisia 2009),
  • Steph and Richard,
  • Lorraine, and
  • the ever-fabulous jewelry-maker Columbine. (Columbine, what’s your website?)

My only regret Despite being a die-hard Dr. Who fan, I missed meeting Peter Davison. The free-wheeling discussion about New and Old School Dr. Who was a blast, however.

I am so looking forward to my next con! (That would be Arisia, in January.

Leave a Reply

